Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: State Legislation

HB328/SB188 - Massage Therapy Board Formation

Thursday, November 20, 2014   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Sheri Ryan
Share |

Board of Massage Therapists

The Board of Massage Therapists was enacted by the Alaska State Legislature (HB 328) in 2014 and goes into effect on November 9, 2014. The Board will adopt regulations to carry out laws governing the practice of massage therapy in Alaska. The governor may appoint members to the Board of Massage Therapists, those interested in submitting an application for consideration should contact Boards and Commissions at

Effective July 1, 2015, licensure is required for practitioners who:

  • have not practiced massage therapy, as defined in AS 08.61.100, or
  • have practiced massage therapy in the state but are not currently
    • licensed to practice massage therapy in another state or country that has licensing requirements that are substantially equal to or greater than the requirements of this state; or
    • certified by a certification entity approved by the board.

Effective July 1, 2017, licensure is required for all practicing massage therapy in the State of Alaska.

The Division will publish the license application forms, fees, and regulatory information for this program on this web page as soon as available. Questions? Email

Here's the link to the website for the NEW State of Alaska Board of Massage Therapists -  Good place to keep yourself informed of the what, when and how.  

Here's what the signed law has to say about the qualifications for obtaining a massage therapy license...

Sec. 08.61.030. Qualifications for license. The board shall issue a license to practice massage therapy to a person who 
                 (1) applies on a form provided by the department; 
                 (2) pays the fees established under AS 08.61.090; 
                 (3) furnishes evidence satisfactory to the board that the person has completed a 
                                (A) course of study of at least 500 hours of in-class supervised instruction and clinical work from an approved massage school; or
                                (B) board-approved apprenticeship program;
                 (4) is 18 years of age or older;  
                 (5) has been fingerprinted and has provided the fees required by the Department of Public Safety under AS 12.62.160 for criminal justice information and a national criminal history record check; the fingerprints and fees shall be forwarded to the Department of Public Safety to obtain a report of criminal justice information under AS 12.62 and a national criminal history record check under AS 12.62.400; 
                 (6) has a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification; 
                 (7) has received at least four hours of safety education covering bloodborne pathogens and universal precautions in the two years preceding the application for the license; in this paragraph, "bloodborne pathogens" has the meaning given in AS 18.15.450; 
                (8) has successfully completed a nationally recognized competency examination approved by the board; and 
                (9) has not been convicted of, or pled guilty or no contest to, a crime involving moral turpitude, or who has been convicted of, or pled guilty or no contest to, a crime involving moral turpitude if the board finds that the conviction does not affect the person's ability to practice competently and safely. 


Sheri Ryan says...
Posted Thursday, January 29, 2015
Board Members: Board Member Roster Board Meetings: February 5-6, 2015 - Juneau Meeting Agenda (Draft) Contact Information Karen Hudson, Licensing Examiner Phone: (907) 465-2691 Fax: (907) 465-2974 Email: P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806

Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely
Latest News

ACS Radiology Club 04/18/2018 - Anchorage

ACS Radiology Club 04/19/2018 - Valley

Alaska Chiropractic Society, PO Box 111507, Anchorage, AK  99511-1507 
Phone: (907) 903-1350   Fax:  (907) 770-3790   Email: