Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: State Legislation

Have Massage Therapists on staff? TIME TO ACT!

Monday, June 1, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Sheri Ryan
Share |

Have Massage Therapists on staff?  TIME TO ACT!  On Friday, 5/29/15, The Alaska Board of Massage Therapists  posted the applications required for the licensing of new massage therapists and practicing massage therapists.  Fees have not been finalized at this point (Proposed initial cost $660) but the applications are NOW available for completion/submission.  

Any practicing massage therapist who will be seeing patients in your office come 7/1/15 MUST be licensed by the state of Alaska by 7/1/15.  No exceptions.  If they are going to be seeing patients come 7/1, they HAVE TO BE LICENSED by the State of Alaska.  

Here's a link to the application for a practicing massage therapist.

Requirements for this application are current CPR certification and a fingerprinting card.  NOTE:  The blood borne pathogens/universal precautions educational component is waived for those applying under one of the six categories for a practicing massage therapist.    

Part III-Verification of Massage Therapy Experience/Professional Activities (page 2 of the application) clearly lists how practicing massage therapists may become licensed under the transitional provisions.  Here's the six ways...

  1. Copy of signed federal income tax return for one of five years immediately preceding application.
  2. Copy of signed Schedule C federal income tax return for one of five years immediately preceding application.
  3. Sworn statement from an Alaskan employer attesting massage therapist has practiced massage therapy within five years immediately preceding July 1, 2015 (form provided with application).
  4. Copy of municipal massage therapy license that was current as of June 30, 2015
  5. Documentation of at least one year of active membership immediately preceding the date of application in a national professional massage therapy association established prior to 2000 that offers professional liability insurance and has an established code of professional ethics.
  6. Other documentation verifying ownership, operation or employment for a massage therapy business prior to July 1, 2015.  

Here is the signed bill that became law in November, 2014.  Page 10 of the bill contains the complete verbiage under the heading TRANSITION.  

The proposed fingerprinting fee of $60 listed on the application is for a background check.  It does not include the FD-258 fingerprinting card required for submission with the application.  Here's a list of possible vendors from which to obtain a finger print card.  Customary fee for the FD-258 finger print card is $25.  See the application for more extensive details/instructions.  You may also check your local Yellow Pages for additional service providers.

If you are a Premera contracted provider - Massage therapists who work for a Premera-contracted provider must be credentialed and added under the contract once they obtain their license. Premera will no longer allow claims for services rendered by the licensed massage therapists to be billed under the supervising provider’s name.   Premera Credentialing Application 

Massage Therapy Licensure FAQ (May 2015) may be helpful to chiropractic offices with questions regarding the licensing requirements for Massage Therapists effective July 1, 2015.    

The AK Board of Massage Therapists website is located at  

Their licensing examiner is:

Contact Information

Susan Johnson, Licensing Examiner
Phone: (907) 465-3811
Fax: (907) 465-2974
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806

Community Search
Sign In

Latest News
Online Surveys
Featured Members

Alaska Chiropractic Society, PO Box 111507, Anchorage, AK  99511-1507 
Phone: (907) 903-1350   Fax:  (907) 770-3790   Email: