Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: State Legislation

SB204 - Disabled Parking Permits - Up for Vote on Senate Floor TODAY at 11:00 am

Wednesday, March 7, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Sheri Ryan
Share |

SB204 introduced by Senator Dennis Egan on behalf of the Alaska Chiropractic Society on 02/19/2018 is up for a Senate Floor vote TODAY, March 7, 2018 at 11:00 am.  You can watch the Senate Floor session LIVE on Gavel Alaska at

A GREAT BIG Shout OUT to the Doctors who answered our Call to Action and contacted their State Senators to educate them on SB204 and encouraged them to show their support for this bill and had patients submit letters of support so that chiropractors can continue to assist their disabled patients!  

Overview of SB204

In the summer of 2016, several ACS Members notified the Alaska Chiropractic Society that Disability Parking Permit applications completed by chiropractors were no longer being accepted by the State of Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles.

The State of Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles Application for Special Disability Parking Permit - Form 861 was revised 05/2016 and again 11/2016. The form no longer had "Chiropractor" included in the list of healthcare providers able to complete. Contact was made with the DMV and the Department of Administration which oversees the Division of Motor Vehicles. ACS learned that the form change was due to an AG's opinion to the state that Doctors of Chiropractic do not meet the narrowly written requirements of the statute that dictates who can complete the Disability Parking Permit application. The statute requires healthcare professionals to be licensed under AS 08.64 or AS 08.68. As DCs are licensed under AS 08.20, chiropractors did not meet the narrowly written criteria of this statute.

Here's the statute that dictates who can complete the Disability Parking Permit for the DMV in Alaska - AS 28.10.181 (d) states "For purposes of this subsection, proof of disability may be provided by a person licensed as a physician or physician assistant under AS 08.64 or as an advanced practice registered nurse under AS 08.68."  

The ACS Legislative Committee met numerous times over 2016/2017 to address the situation. Step 1 - ACS attempted to have the form amended administratively given that prior to the 2016 change of AK DMV Form 861, chiropractors were listed as authorized physicians to complete/sign the application for handicapped/disability parking identification and had been completing the form for 30 years. We were unsuccessful in that endeavor. Step 2 - During the legislative session in 2017, ACS attempted to tack the change onto an existing bill but were unsuccessful. Step 3 - ACS searched for a sponsor to introduce our own bill with the needed correction(s). SB204 was introduced 02/19/2018 with Senator Dennis Egan from Juneau as the sponsor!!! ( Statement

A hearing was held 2/27/2018 in the Senate State Affairs Committee.  Dr. Daniel Holt (Juneau) testified in person and Dr. Todd Curzie (Anchorage), Dr. Edward Barrington (Anchorage, and Dr. David Martin (Wasilla) testified via phone on behalf of all chiropractors in the state.  The State Affairs Committee considered SENATE BILL NO. 204 "An Act relating to special registration plates for vehicles owned by veterans with disabilities." Signing do pass: Senator Meyer, Chair; Senators Giessel, Coghill, Egan. Signing no recommendation: Senator Wilson.


Community Search
Sign In

Latest News

10/1/2020 » 10/4/2020
ACS 2020 Convention

Online Surveys
Featured Members

Alaska Chiropractic Society, PO Box 111507, Anchorage, AK  99511-1507 
Phone: (907) 903-1350   Fax:  (907) 770-3790   Email: